Northern Explorer : Timetable

Northern Explorer Timetable


  • Southbound: The Northern Explorer operates Southbound on Monday, Thursday and Saturday*
  • Northbound: The Northern Explorer operates Northbound on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday.*
  • Timetables shown are subject to change at short notice. Heat induced speed restrictions may occur during the summer season and delay arrival.
  • Services may depart intermediate stations earlier if all booked passengers are on board
  • Check in: We recommend arriving 30 minutes prior to the departure time shown.
  • Timetables are subject to change at short notice. Please reconfirm 24 hours prior.

  • *Occasionally the rail lines need to close for scheduled maintenance. Click here for confirmed maintenance dates.  


Auckland - Wellington

(Mondays, Thursdays & Saturdays)
  Wellington - Auckland

(Wednesdays, Fridays & Sundays)
Departs   Departs  
Auckland Strand dep 07.45am Wellington dep 07.55am
Papakura dep 08.40am Paraparaumu dep 08.45am
Hamilton dep 10.15am Palmerston North dep 10.00am
Otorohanga (Waitomo) dep 10:55am Ohakune dep 12.45pm
National Park dep 01.15pm National Park dep 01.15pm
Ohakune dep 01.45pm Otorohanga (Waitomo) dep 03.45pm
Palmerston North dep 04.19pm Hamilton dep 04.30pm
Paraparaumu dep 05.30pm Papakura dep 05.55pm
Wellington arr 06.25pm Auckland arr 06.50pm

Note: Timetables shown are subject to change without notification.